Middle School Athletics

Athletic Coordinator

Marc DeVoe
763-745-6228
Marc.DeVoe@wayzataschools.org

Fall

Girls' Tennis

Girls' tennis season starts the first week of school.

All 7th & 8th grade girls are welcome to join, no experience necessary. Practice runs Monday through Friday, 4:10-5:20 p.m. Students can take the late bus home Monday through Thursday. Remember there is no late bus on Friday, so please plan accordingly.

All matches will be doubles matches, therefore practices will focus on doubles strategies, as well as practicing basic tennis fundamentals such as serving, returning, forehands, backhands, net play, footwork and other strategies.

In the event of bad weather, cancellations will be made anywhere from 2-3 p.m. the day of the match/practice.

Practices: Practices will be every day we don't have a match, starting around 4:10 p.m. and ending around 5:20 p.m. A typical practice will include announcements, warm-ups, skills and drills with small group instruction, large group play time and closing notes.

Matches: Please visit www.classicmsjh.org (under East) for locations and start times as they do vary depending on the opponent and location. Matches will start anywhere from 3:45-4:20 p.m. Check the schedule for all times. Dates are subject to change; coaches will notify players. It is recommended for parents to subscribe to email alerts on www.classicmsjh.org.

Coach

Marc DeVoe
763-745-6228
Marc.DeVoe@wayzata.k12.mn.us

Girls' Volleyball

Girls Volleyball Season starts the first week of school; the season will run approximately until the first week of November.

All 7th & 8th grade girls are welcome to join, no experience necessary. Practice runs Monday through Friday, 4:10-5:20 p.m. Students can take the late bus home Monday through Thursday. Remember there is no late bus on Friday, so please plan accordingly.

Coaches

Matt Rohweder
763-745-6375
Matt.Rohweder@wayzata.k12.mn.us

Nicole Johnson
763-745-6281
Nicole.Johnson@wayzata.k12.mn.us

Winter

Girls' Basketball

The girls basketball season begins early-November.

All 7th & 8th grade girls are welcome to join, no experience necessary. The season is a combined 7th & 8th grade season with most practices focusing on skill development and structured game play. All registered players will be placed on a team, no cuts will be made. Teams could consist of both 7th and 8th graders (depending on number of participants).

Coach

7th Grade Coach
Justin Jones
763-745-6324
Justin.Jones@wayzataschools.org

8th Grade Coach
Emily Takekawa
763-745-6378
Emily.Takekawa@wayzataschools.org

Boys' Basketball

All 7th & 8th grade boys are welcome to join, no experience necessary!

The 7th & 8th grade seasons will practice and play games during the same time period (mid-January-mid March).

Most practices will focus on skill development and structured game play. At times 7th & 8th grades may practice together during some drills; but most of the time practices will be current grade levels. Game days will also be current grade levels. So in other words, games will consist of same grade teammates and opponents. All registered players will be placed on a team, no cuts will be made.

Coaches

Tony Williams
763-745-6239
Tony.Williams@wayzataschools.org

Justin Jones
763-745-6324
Justin.Jones@wayzataschools.org

Joseph Hannon
763-745-6235
Joseph.Hannon@wayzataschools.org

Wrestling

Wrestling season runs during the first winter sports season, which is November 6 to January 12. Wrestling is open to all 6th, 7th, and 8th grade girls and boys.

Students will take the shuttle bus leaving EMS at 4:08pm to CMS. Parents can pick up athletes after practice at CMS or students can ride the shuttle bus back to EMS to catch their late bus. Remember there are no late buses on Friday's so please plan accordingly.

Coach

Steve Newman
763-745-6158
Steve.Newman@wayzataschools.org

Spring

Boys' Track & Field

Season starts March 25!

All 7th and 8th grade boys are welcome to join, no experience necessary! Practice runs Monday-Friday 4:10-5:20 p.m. Students are able to take the late bus home Monday-Thursday with the bus leaving East at 5:30 p.m. Transportation must be arranged on Friday practice days.

Students will be able to compete in 1, 2, 3 or 4 of the following events:

Events

  • 100 Meter Hurdles
  • 1600 Meter
  • 100 Meter
  • 4x200 Meter Relay
  • 400 Meter
  • 4x100 Meter Relay
  • 800 Meter
  • 200 Meter
  • Short Sprint Medley Relay (100x100x200x400)
  • Shot Put
  • Dicus
  • Long Jump
  • High Jump

Coaches

Marc DeVoe
763-745-6228
Marc.DeVoe@wayzataschools.org

Kristian Bejarin
763-745-6213
Kristian.Bejarin@wayzataschools.org

Girls' Track & Field

Season starts March 25!

All 7th and 8th grade girls are welcome to join, no experience necessary! Practice runs Monday through Friday 4:10-5:20 p.m. Students can take the late bus home on Monday through Thursdays which leaves East at 5:30 p.m.

Students will be able to compete in 1, 2, 3 or 4 of the following events:

Events

  • 100 Meter Hurdles
  • 1600 Meter
  • 100 Meter
  • 4x200 Meter Relay
  • 400 Meter
  • 4x100 Meter Relay
  • 800 Meter
  • 200 Meter
  • Short Sprint Medley Relay (100x100x200x400)
  • Shot Put
  • Dicus
  • Long Jump
  • High Jump

Coaches

Michele Stinson
763-745-5948
Michele.Stinson@wayzataschools.org

Terri Bostrom
763-745-6265
Terri.Bostrom@wayzataschools.org

Optional track & field apparel is available for purchase. Please use below link if interested. 

Optional Track & Field Apparel

April 2019
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Apr 1
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 9
Wed, Apr 10
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
Tue, Apr 16
Wed, Apr 17
Thu, Apr 18
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 22
Tue, Apr 23
Wed, Apr 24
Thu, Apr 25
Fri, Apr 26
Sat, Apr 27
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5

Boys' Tennis

Season starts March 25, 2019! 

All 7th and 8th grade boys are welcome to join, no experience necessary! Practice runs Monday through Friday 4:10-5:20 p.m. Students are able to take the late bus home Monday-Thursday and the bus leaves East at 5:30 p.m. Transportation must be arranged on Fridays.

Coach

Shelly Mozey
763-745-6229
Shelly.Mozey@wayzataschools.org