Wayzata Public Schools

Health Services


We recognize that healthy children are better learners. Our district nurses and school-based health paraprofessionals work collaboratively to promote the health and safety of our students.

The role of district nurses

Our licensed school nurses provide care in concert with health paraprofessionals for students at all schools. They perform the following services.

  • provide needed physical assessment, direct nursing care and specialized health procedures to students
  • develop and assist with the implementation of individual health plans for students with chronic health conditions
  • train and support school staff to assist students' needs as identified by their health plans
  • serve as in-house resources, liaisons and advocates for students, parents and community service organizations regarding individual and general health care issues

The role of health paraprofessionals

Our health paraprofessionals work in the school health offices under the supervision of the licensed school nurse. They are certified in CPR and First Aid and receive targeted health education on pertinent school health-related topics such as diabetes, anaphylaxis, asthma and epilepsy. They perform the following services.

  • provide direct care to students who become ill during the school day
  • administer medications
  • assist district nurses with the prevention and control of communicable diseases
  • distribute communicable disease information to school staff and parents as needed
  • assist with vision and hearing screening programs

District Nurses

Dawn Willson, RN, PHN, LSN
Health Services Supervisor
763-745-6073
Dawn.Willson@wayzataschools.org

Kari Feia, RN, PHN, LSN, MA
North Woods and Greenwood elementary schools, and East Middle School
763-745-6619
Kari.Feia@wayzataschools.org

Lynda Lankford, RN, PHN, LSN, MEd
Plymouth Creek and Gleason Lake elementary schools and West Middle School
763-745-6451
Lynda.Lankford@wayzataschools.org

Melissa Wilson, RN, PHN, LSN
Kimberly Lane, Meadow Ridge and Sunset Hill elementary schools
763-745-5020
Melissa.Wilson@wayzataschools.org

Natalie Sullivan, RN, PHN, LSN
Birchview Elementary School and Central Middle School
763-745-6014
Natalie.Sullivan@wayzataschools.org

Stacy Schmidt, RN, PHN, LSN
Oakwood Elementary School and Wayzata Early Learning School
763-745-5061
Stacy.Schmidt@wayzataschools.org

Jean Parsons, RN, PHN, LSN, MS
Wayzata High School and Wayzata Transition
763-745-6616
Jean.Parsons@wayzataschools.org

Hanna Olstad, RN, PHN, LSN
Community Ed
763-745-5283
Hanna.Olstad@wayzataschools.org