Club Y.E.S. (Youth Extending Services)

Description of activity: Club Y.E.S. (Youth Extending Service) is a youth service program for students attending Wayzata High School. It offers students a wide range of exciting opportunities for volunteer service: Interfaith Outreach, Carnivals and Family Fun Nights, MATTER, City of Plymouth, Trillium Woods, Adopt A Highway and much more.

Where to go for more information: 2nd Floor Offices

Meeting time: Club Y.E.S. meetings are held monthly. Members should attend one of the meetings. Generally, meetings are the first Wednesday of the month at 3:20 p.m. and the first Thursday of the month at 7:30 a.m. (full calendar).

Eligibility requirements: Open to all students, grades 9-12, who meet the Wayzata Public Schools Extra-Curricular Eligibility Requirements and complete a Club Y.E.S. application/parent permission form along with the set program guidelines.

How to Join: Registration for Club Y.E.S. can be done online in EPay under WHS, Athletics and Activities. See Online Registration Instructions Form.

Average number of members: 800 members.

Awards criteria & type of awards: Outstanding Volunteer Award, Volunteer of the Month Award, President’s Volunteer Service Award.

Student leadership: Club Y.E.S. is governed by a Student Advisory Leadership Board.

Super Kids Super Sharing

Wayzata Public Schools joined the NFL, Super Bowl Host Committee and others in a special Super Bowl 52 service project called Super Kids Super Sharing. We are excited to report Super Success! The Minnesota Super Kids Super Sharing event brought in over 48,000 donations. Wayzata Public Schools collected over 14,000 items!

Contact

Brenda Badger
Club Y.E.S. Coordinator
763-745-6807
Brenda.Badger@wayzataschools.org

President's Volunteer Service Award & Application

Application Instructions and the link to the online application form are now available for the 2018 President's Volunteer Service Award under Forms. Students at Wayzata High School who meet the criteria and apply may be nominated by Wayzata High School to receive this prestigious national award that recognizes volunteer efforts of individuals.

2018 President's Volunteer Service Award Application Information

Students may also use the President's Volunteer Service Award - Volunteer Hours Tracking Form (also found under Forms) to keep track of their volunteer hours and to record necessary signatures.

Awards are issued once a year at the Youth Extending Service Awards Celebration in April. See the District calendar for exact date.

Calendar

October 2019
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 29
Funday @ The Birches
-
Mon, Sep 30
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Tue, Oct 1
BINGO @ Cherrywood Pointe
-
Project SOAR
-
Therapy Dog Training at AHS
-
Wed, Oct 2
Club Y.E.S. October Meeting
-
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Thu, Oct 3
Club Y.E.S. October Meeting
-
Birchview Family Fun Night
-
Project SOAR Art Class
-
Fri, Oct 4
BINGO at The Birches
-
Oakwood Fall Family Jam
-
Plymouth Creek Panther Prowl
-
Sat, Oct 5
BINGO @ The Birches
-
Sun, Oct 6
Hoppy Hour at AHS
-
Funday @ The Birches
-
Music at Cherrywood Pointe
-
Mon, Oct 7
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Tue, Oct 8
Wed, Oct 9
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Thu, Oct 10
Gleason Lake Book Fair
-
Fri, Oct 11
BINGO at The Birches
-
Haunted Acres
-
Sat, Oct 12
Puzzle Sorters @ The Birches
-
Resale Select at IOCP
-
Second Harvest Food Bank
-
BINGO @ The Birches
-
Haunted Acres
-
Sun, Oct 13
Puzzle Sorters @ The Birches
-
Funday @ The Birches
-
Mon, Oct 14
Gleason Lake Book Fair
-
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Wed, Oct 16
North Woods Kindness Retreat
-
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Project SOAR Game Night
-
Thu, Oct 17
Fri, Oct 18
BINGO at The Birches
-
Haunted Acres
-
Sat, Oct 19
BINGO @ The Birches
-
Haunted Acres
-
Sun, Oct 20
Hoppy Hour at AHS
-
Funday @ The Birches
-
Music at Cherrywood Pointe
-
Mon, Oct 21
Adopt A Highway
-
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Project SOAR Baking Class
-
Tue, Oct 22
Therapy Dog Training at AHS
-
Wed, Oct 23
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Hammer Haunted House
-
Thu, Oct 24
Fri, Oct 25
BINGO at The Birches
-
Halloween at The Creek
-
Haunted Acres
-
Sat, Oct 26
Boo Bash Dash in Wayzata
-
Big Woods Halloween
-
Resale Select at IOCP
-
BINGO @ The Birches
-
Music for The Birches
-
Enchanted Forest Halloween
-
Haunted Acres
-
Sun, Oct 27
Raking for Homebound Senior
-
Raking for Homebound Senior
-
Funday @ The Birches
-
Mon, Oct 28
Interfaith Food Shelf
-
Project SOAR Baking Class
-
Tue, Oct 29
Therapy Dog Training at AHS
-
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
BINGO @ The Birches
-
Sat, Nov 2
Raking for Homebound Senior
-
BINGO @ The Birches
-

Forms

Policies

  • All Club Y.E.S. members represent Wayzata High School each time one is volunteering in the community and will act responsibly.
  • Members are accountable for the behavior regulations in the Fine Arts & Activities Eligibility brochure.
  • If a violation is received, the member in violation will, for the remainder of the school year be prohibited from: Study Buddies, Tutoring, Youth Frontiers Retreats, and Club Y.E.S. Student Advisory Board.
  • If suspended, a member will be restricted from all Club Y.E.S. volunteer activities until after a re-entry meeting.
  • Club Y.E.S. is NOT an option for students needing to complete court-ordered community service hours.
  • Members MUST volunteer at least 10 hours each semester ( at least 5 hours must be through Y.E.S. projects).
  • Only registered members of Club Y.E.S. may sign up for Club Y.E.S. service projects.

Expectations of Members Regarding Service Projects:

  • Once a member signs up for a project he/she is expect to go and stay the entire time. If unable to attend the member MUST find a Club Y.E.S. substitute to cover his/her shift.
  • Cell phone use is not allowed while volunteering at a service project. Cell phones must be put away.

How to Request Club Y.E.S. Volunteers

Club Y.E.S. volunteers are students in grades 9-12 from Wayzata High School. Club Y.E.S. only supports non-profit organizations in the communities of Wayzata Public Schools or west metro.

Request Club Y.E.S. Volunteers

Please contact Brenda Badger, Club Y.E.S. Program Manager, at Brenda.Badger@wayzataschools.org. Please include the following information:

  • Project/Event Name
  • Date(s) of project/event
  • Times (various shifts)
  • Location of project/event (address)
  • Description of volunteer jobs
  • Number of volunteers needed/preferred
  • Contact person and contact info

A six-week advance notice or earlier is preferred. No guarantees can be made on availability of volunteers.