Basketball, Girls

 

 

 

 

Description of sport: Competitive girls basketball consisting of 4 teams: Varsity, JV, Sophomore and 9th grade. Possibility of a 9B team depending on numbers.

Where to go for more information: Activities Office or see Coach Schumacher, C119.

Length of season: Tryouts for Grades 10-12 will start November 11, 2019. 9th Grade tryouts will be November 4, 5, 6. Times to be determined. Must be registered to tryout. Lower levels end at the end of February. Varsity goes into March.

Practice times: Practice times vary. See team calendar. Practices are 5-6 days a week depending on what team you are on.

Practice sites: WHS gymnasiums.

Competitions: 26-32 games: approximately two games a week beginning in November and Holiday Tourney 2-3 days for varsity team. JV/10/9: 18-25 games.

Eligibility requirements: Meet MSHSL and Wayzata Public Schools Eligibility Requirements. Must be fully registered with the Activities Office. Eligible sports qualifying physical, eligibility form and fee payment must be on file in the Activities Office before participation.

Average number of members: 8-12 per team.

Costs and/or needed equipment: Participation fee plus basketball shoes. One time fee for practice uniform $70-$80. 9th grade will wear practice uniform for games as well. V/JV players will need to purchase a shooting shirt for $40-$50. 

Awards criteria and type of awards: Lettering requirements determined by head coach.

Student leadership: Captains are determined by voting by team members and coaches.

Team Packet

Head Coach

Mike Schumacher
763-745-6830
Mike.Schumacher@wayzataschools.org

Assistant Coaches

Julie Stewart, Varsity Assistant
jastew1994@gmail.com

Sarah Bingea, JV Coach
763-745-6481
Sarah.Bingea@wayzataschools.org

Teresa Thour, Sophomore Coach
763-745-5920
Teresa.Thour@wayzataschools.org

Chris Easton, 9th Grade A Coach
763-745-6624
Chris.Easton@wayzataschools.org

Alli Martin, 9th Grade B Coach
763-745-5820
Allison.Martin@wayzataschools.org

Upcoming Games

Summer Opportunities

Month, Week, or Day view selectors
January 2020
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 29
Mon, Dec 30
9A/B Practice
-
10 Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Tue, Dec 31
10 Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
Wed, Jan 1
Thu, Jan 2
V/JV Practice
-
10 Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
Fri, Jan 3
9B vs. Delano
-
Sat, Jan 4
Sun, Jan 5
Mon, Jan 6
10 Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
Tue, Jan 7
Wed, Jan 8
10 Practice
-
9A Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
9B vs. Centennial
-
Thu, Jan 9
V/JV Practice
-
9B vs. Maple Grove
-
10 Practice
-
9A Practice
-
Sat, Jan 11
V/JV Practice
-
Sun, Jan 12
Mon, Jan 13
V/JV Practice
-
Tue, Jan 14
10 Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Wed, Jan 15
10 Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Thu, Jan 16
9A/B vs. Maple Grove
-
10 Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Fri, Jan 17
Sat, Jan 18
V/JV Practice
-
Sun, Jan 19
Mon, Jan 20
10 Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Tue, Jan 21
9B Practice
-
Wed, Jan 22
9A/B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
10 Practice
-
Thu, Jan 23
10 Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
Fri, Jan 24
9B at Blaine
-
Sat, Jan 25
10 Practice
-
9A/9B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Sun, Jan 26
Mon, Jan 27
10 Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Team Dinner
-
Tue, Jan 28
9B vs. Cooper
-
Wed, Jan 29
10 Practice
-
9A/B Practice
-
V/JV Practice
-
Thu, Jan 30
9B at Mound Westonka
-
Fri, Jan 31
9B vs. Southwest
-
Youth Poster Night
-
Sat, Feb 1
V/JV Practice
-
FMSC
-

Calendar is subject to change. 9B practice schedule will change as games are added.

WAYZATA BASKETBALL

Our History