Student Council

Description of activity: The student council acts as a liaison between the student body, the administration and the school board. The student council is involved in the Hennepin Division of Student Councils and the Minnesota Association of Student Councils.

Where to go for more information: B207

Length of season: Students are elected by members of their grade level and serve for one school year.

Meeting times: Meetings are held on alternate Tuesdays during the school day and rotate through the schedule. In addition, there are meetings every other Monday at 7:50 a.m.

Meeting site: Auditorium.

Eligibility requirements: There are two ways a student may become a member of the student council. To be an elected voting member, candidates must participate in the spring election and be voted in by members of their class. To be a non-voting, work-on member, interested students must pick up an application at the start of the school year, go through an interview process, and complete 15 hours of student council activities by the end of Homecoming Week. Transfer students who were active in student council in their previous school become members upon the recommendation of their former advisor. All student council members must adhere to legal statutes, school policies and the WHS Student Council Constitution. Students must meet the Wayzata Public Schools Extra-Curricular Eligibility Requirements.

Average number of members: The senior class has 10 elected members, the junior class has eight elected members, the sophomore and freshman class each have six elected members. In addition, the council may consist of work-on members.

Student leadership: Once elected to the student council, members have the opportunity to act in a variety of leadership positions.

Advisors

Amy Swenson, Advisor 
763-745-6849
Amy.Swenson@wayzataschools.org

Lauren Wilvers, Assistant Advisor
763-745-6785
Lauren.Wilvers@wayzataschools.org

WHS Student Council
whsstudentcouncil@isd284.com

Student Senate Executive Board

President: Sonia Gazula
Vice President:  Matt Lawrence
Secretary:  Meredith Kleve

Junior President: Braden Bourland 
Jr. Vice President:  Sarah Cao
Jr. Secretary:  Akshat Dwivedi

PR/Community Liaison: Andrew Adams
PR/Community Liaison: Aki Bhati 

10th Gr. Rep: Jack Ross
9th Gr. Rep:    Netra Kimber

Student Senate Members

Seniors

  • Adrika Dasgupta
  • Umar Hasan
  • Olivia James
  • Natalie Ku
  • Lauren Palaia
  • Mollie Prondzinski
  • Janie Schrader
  • Kevin Sun
  • Izzy Treanor
  • Grace Treanor
  • Madi Weiner
  • Srinidhi Yerraguntala

Juniors

  • Nick Argento
  • Joe Beltrand
  • Natalie Collinge
  • Tara Haas
  • Imran Khan
  • Marit Larson
  • Dylan Lewis
  • Liv Mundahl
  • Jack Olson
  • Aidan Sheehy             

Sophomores

  • Ife Adeboye
  • Aleeza Amin
  • Angel Gathumbi
  • Natalie Koehler
  • Jack Ross
  • Isha Shah
  • Sophie Zenzen

Freshmen

  • Tanvi Gorripati
  • Tarun Gorripati
  • Nadija Hajrovic
  • Netra Kimber    
  • Emma Lephart
  • Anna Vollendorf        

Join Student Council

There are two ways to join:

  1. Run in the spring election. If elected you become a member of the Senate. Senate members attend House meetings and the in-school Senate meetings.

    Each middle school selects (elects) two 8th grade students to be on the Senate. The middle schools determine how these students are decided. The names are forwarded to the high school in May.
     
  2. Work-on and become a member of the House. To work-on, you need to complete 15 hours helping out at Student Council activities and these hours must be completed by the end of Homecoming Week. Students may start earning hours in the summer by working at “Back to Business” day events. House members attend only the Monday morning House meetings.

What do we do?

  1. We plan Homecoming Week.
  2. We organize all of the dances throughout the year.
  3. We select and honor our WHS Distinguished Alumni.
  4. We represent the student body at school board meetings and at PTSO meetings.
  5. We run P.E.A.C.E. day for our middle schools.
  6. We organize Survivor Week.
  7. We represent the student voice to our administrators.
  8. We run our annual Adopt-A-Family program with Interfaith Outreach.

If it involves social programming for our school – WHS Student Council is involved.

Forms & Documents

Calendar

October 2019
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Sat/Sun
Mon, Sep 30
Tue, Oct 1
Wed, Oct 2
Thu, Oct 3
Fri, Oct 4
Sat, Oct 5
Sun, Oct 6
Mon, Oct 7
Tue, Oct 8
Senate Meeting - BLOCK 3
-
Wed, Oct 9
Thu, Oct 10
Fri, Oct 11
Sat, Oct 12
Sun, Oct 13
Mon, Oct 14
Tue, Oct 15
Wed, Oct 16
Thu, Oct 17
Fri, Oct 18
Sat, Oct 19
Sun, Oct 20
Mon, Oct 21
Tue, Oct 22
Wed, Oct 23
Thu, Oct 24
Fri, Oct 25
Sat, Oct 26
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2
Sun, Nov 3